Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Coronation Of Malaysia's New King & Queen 2011

His Royal Majesty, Ke Bawah Duli Yang Maha Mulia, Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Dipertuan Agong, Tuanku Sir Almu'tasimu Billahi Muhibbudin Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah.

Her Royal Majesty, Seri Paduka Baginda Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Haminah Hamidun

Knight of the Order of St John (KStJ) - 1972
Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath (GCB) - 1972
Grand Cross of the Order of Charles III (w/Collar) - 1974

Tuanku Abdul Halim was elected as the fifth Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia and served his term in office from 21 September 1970 to 20 September 1975.

He is the third youngest monarch to ascend the throne of Yang di-Pertuan Agong after Tuanku Syed Putra of Perlis and Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin of Terengganu.

During his kingship, Tuanku Abdul Halim presided over the first transfer of power of the civilian government when his uncle, Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman resigned in favour of his deputy Tun Abdul Razak. Tunku Abdul Rahman had felt that he should not serve under a nephew, given strict Malay royal protocol, but agreed to stay on as prime minister for one day of Tuanku Abdul Halim's reign.

In October 2011, Abdul Halim was elected to serve a second term as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to commence on 13 December 2011. He will become the first person to hold the position twice. A council of regency consisting of his brothers Tunku Annuar, Tunku Sallehuddin, Tunku Abdul Hamid Thani, and daughter Tunku Puteri Intan Safinaz will discharge his duties as Sultan of Kedah while he serves his term as King.

KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah, will serve as the 14th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for five years from Dec 13, becoming the only ruler to serve as the King for a second time.

The special meeting of the Conference of Rulers, which elected Sultan Abdul Halim, 83, also elected the Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V, as the next Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, said a statement issued by the Prime Minister's Office.

The Kedah ruler had served as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong from Sept 21, 1970 to Sept 20, 1975.
Sultan Abdul Halim, who is now Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, will succeed Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, the Sultan of Terengganu who completes his term of office in December.

Sultan Abdul Halim, born on Nov 28, 1927, at Istana Anak Bukit in Alor Setar, ascended the Kedah throne on July 14, 1958, following the death of his father, Sultan Badlishah.

He graduated from Wadham College, University of Oxford, in the United Kingdom, with a degree in social science and public administration. He joined the Kedah Civil Service in the 1950s.

No comments: